The Dharma Wheel or Dharmachakra wheel - Buddha Statue Meanings About Buddha
Quotes & Sayings  | Portrait Images | Landscape Images> | Privacy Policy | ActionAid Haiti Earthquake+ Appeal  
Contact Us
Glossary of Buddhist terms
About Us

Buddha Hands
Buddha Laying
Buddha Sitting
Buddha Standing
Buddha Walking
Buddha Mudras

Site Map to

Home Page

Portrait Images

Landscape Images

Read Books About Buddha Online FREE

Buddha Statue Postures and Positions

Buddha Posture and Dress

Buddha Reclining or Laying Position

Buddha Sitting Position

Seated In Chair

Buddha Standing Position

Buddha Walking

Buddha Statue Meanings

6 Most Common Mudra Positions

Abhaya Mudra - Absence of Fear

Bhumisparsha Mudra - Buddha touching the earth

Dharmachakra Mudra - Setting The Wheel In Motion

Dhyana Mudra - Buddha in Meditation

Varada Mudra - Buddha Receiving Charity

Vitarka Mudra - Buddha Reasoning

Right Hand Raised

Right Hand Raised - Finger and Thumb Touching

Right Hand Pointing Down Facing Palm Inward

Right Hand Pointing Down Facing Outward

Right Hand on Left With Fingers Fully Stretched

Hands Crossed on Chest - Palms Inward


The Birth Of Buddha Story

The Childhood of Buddha As Prince Siddhartha Gautama

The Marriage of Buddha - Was Buddha Really Married?

Leaving The Royal Palace

Brahmanism and Buddha

Siddhartha Gautama To Buddha - Life Changes

All The Qualities & Requisite To Become Buddha

Buddha's Enlightenment Under The Bodhi Tree

First Sermon Of Buddha In The Deer Park, Benares / Varanasi

Buddha in Varanasi / Benares

Buddha's New Religious Achievements

Buddha Enters Nirvana and Dies

Buddha Quotes & Sayings

What did Buddha look like?


When Did Buddhism Start?

Buddhism and Christianity

Buddhist Aims, Philosophical and Religious

Earliest British Witness Discovering Buddhism - B. H. Hodgson

Buddhism - The Buddhist Religion - Philosophy - Branches

Buddhism - Dharma Wheel - Dharmacakra - Eight-spoke Wheel

Glossary of Buddhist Terms

The Creed of Buddha by John Lane - Preface

Chapter I - East and West - Buddhism in the Western world - Buddhism in the West

Chapter 2 - The Wisdom Of The East

Chapter 3 - The Path Of Life

Chapter 4 - The Teachings Of Buddha - The Four-fold Truths Of Buddhism - Buddha's Code of Moral Law - The Eight-fold Path - Ten "Fetters"

Buddhist Theories etc.

Theory of Buddhist Eightfold Path

Theory of Buddhist Four Noble Truths

Theory of Buddhist Metaphysics #1

A Series of Buddhist Chants and Mantras

Article - Western Science Takes a Big Blow in Meditation Study - by Victor Fama - Sub title: Meditation Techniques For Beginners


About Us

Privacy Policy

Cambodia - coming soon

Ceylon (Sri Lanka)

Ceylon (Sri Lanka) Sinhalese Buddhism Jetakas

History of Buddhism in Sri Lanka (Ceylon)

Highway Tax Protests of 1848

Under English Administration In The Mid-1800s

India - coming soon


History of Buddhism in Thailand - 13th-19th Centuries

History of Buddhism in Thailand - 20th-21st Centuries

History of Buddhism in Thailand - What Influences Thai Buddhism

Thailand Buddha Statues

Marble Temple - Wat Benchamabophit - Buddha calling down rain

Temple of The Reclining Buddha - Wat Pho - Reclining Buddha


The Sultanganj Buddha of the Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery


Advertise on Buddha Statue Meanings

The Buddhist Flag
First hoisted in 1885 in Sri Lanka, is a symbol of faith and peace used throughout the world to represent the Buddhist faith.

Buddhist Flag Picture - Buddhist Flag Colours - The Buddhist Flag Sri Lanka 1885

Buddhist Flag Meanings
Blue: Universal Compassion
Yellow: The Middle Path
Red: Blessings
White: Purity and Liberation
Orange: Wisdom

Buddha head from Burma (Mayamar) probably 12th century

The Dharma Wheel

Spokes of the Dharmachakra - "The Dharma Wheel" Meaning - The Dharma Wheel Symbol - The Dharma Wheel Image - 8 spokes representing the Noble Eightfold Path (Ariya magga)

In Buddhism—according to the Pali Canon, Vinayapitaka, Khandhaka, Mahavagga, the number of spokes of the Dharmachakra represent various meanings:

8 spokes representing the Noble Eightfold Path (Ariya magga).
12 spokes representing the Twelve Laws of Dependent Origination (Paticcasamuppada).
24 spokes representing the Twelve Laws of Dependent Origination and the Twelve Laws of Dependent Termination (Paticcasamuppada).
31 spokes representing 31 realms of existence (11 realms of desire, 16 realms of form and 4 realms of formlessness).

Nam-Myoho-Renge-Kyo is a Japanese Buddhist chant based upon the Lotus Sutra. Nichiren Daishonin (Feb 16, 1222 – Oct 13, 1282) a Buddhist monk who lived during the Kamakura period (1185–1333) in Japan. Nichiren taught devotion to the Lotus Sutra, entitled Myōhō-Renge-Kyō in Japanese, as the exclusive means to attain enlightenment and the chanting of Nam-Myōhō-Renge-Kyō as the essential practice of the teaching. Various schools with diverging interpretations of Nichiren's teachings comprise Nichiren Buddhism.
Nam - To devote one's life
Myoho - Myo is the mystic nature of life and Ho, its manifestation
Renge - "Lotus Flower"; which symolises the ballance of cause and effect
Kyo - Sutra, the voice or teachings of Buddha (The sound or vibration that connects everything in the ubiverse)

As the Buddha had never claimed to be a god, it is evident that he never prescribed the form of worship that was to be rendered to him. A legend, however, attributes to him the institution of this form of worship

Thailand Travel Guide

Free Thailand Travel Guide

Owned & Managed By: JeGraNet  © Copyright 2010 - 2012. All rights reserved